"This App Can't Run on Your PC"

Hello all,

I just downloaded MT4 on my PC running Windows 10 - Version 10.0.16299 - Build 16299. 

I'm trying the basic task of adding expert indicators, which requires that I go to File > Open Data Folder. However, when doing so, I get an error stating "This App Can't Run on Your PC" with a suggestion that I talk to the software provider. I've sent a question to MQL5.com, and they told me it's a Windows issue. I contacted Microsoft, and they told me to un/reinstall, which I did, and then told me that it's a software issues and not their problem. 

Has anyone experienced this? I'm just getting started in trading and I don't want any roadblocks preventing me from using the tools that should be available to all of us. 

Thank you,

Nick

Retarded Windows can't open it's own file explorer. Install this (64 bit):

https://www.7-zip.org/

Then open it and find C:/Users/<your name>/AppData/Roaming/MetaQuotes/Terminal/

For every MetaTrader installed on your PC there should be a weird name folder there. That is what opens on File/Open Data Folder

7-Zip
  • www.7-zip.org
7-Zip is a file archiver with a high compression ratio. Download 7-Zip 18.05 (2018-04-30) for Windows: Link Type Windows Size License 7-Zip is free software with open source. The most of the code is under the GNU LGPL license. Some parts of the code are under the BSD 3-clause License. Also there is unRAR license restriction for some parts of...

kypa:

Retarded Windows can't open it's own file explorer. Install this (64 bit):

https://www.7-zip.org/

Then open it and find C:/Users/<your name>/AppData/Roaming/MetaQuotes/Terminal/

For every MetaTrader installed on your PC there should be a weird name folder there. That is what opens on File/Open Data Folder