Custom indexing of an array / subscript operation overloading

Hey guys,

I am getting acquainted with the mql language, but I have some knowledge of C++.

I want a data structure where I can link a value to another. I was thinking of a map- (C++) or dictionary- (Python) like structure, but it is an overkill for my purposes. So I was thinking of a custom array type, where the subscript is assigned by the program (e.g.: the index will not be 0, 1, 2, 3, but 2, 10, 3, 900, and the length of the array will still be 4, and I can assigne values to these indices, like: list[900] = 2;).  It  can be done with operator overloading in C++, but I can't seem to get it work in mql. The official document is not much help.

Here is the  class:

class cArray
{
private:
        int m_list[10];
public:
        int operator[] (const int index) const
        {
                   return (m_list[index]);
        }; 
};

and here is a simple use:

cArray list; 
   int index = 2;
   list[index] = 3;
   Print(list[index]);

But since I can't overload the [] operator by reference, like:

int& operator[] (const int index) const...

it complains that in

list[index] = 3;

l-value is required.

So my question is: how can I (can I even) overload the subscript operator for the above snipet to work?

Thanks in advance.

This is MQL4, but it may give you some direction for your issue with the l-value.

https://www.mql5.com/en/blogs/post/680572

MQL's OOP notes: Arrayed indicator buffers based on operators overloading
MQL's OOP notes: Arrayed indicator buffers based on operators overloading
  • Stanislav Korotky
  • www.mql5.com
From very first moment as I started learning MetaTrader many years ago I was wondering why there are no multidimentional buffers in indicators. Indeed, when you code an indicator with multiple buffers you need to declare them one by one: This would not only spare a couple of lines, but allow streamline further calculations tremendously...

Anthony Garot: