Is My Understanding of the & Operator Correct?

I am a complete beginner, just trying to make sure I understand each section of the manual before progressing to the next.

My understanding of the & operator is as follows:

& compares the binary digits of two integers and returns a new integer. If the digits from Integer1 correspond with a '1' wherever the digits from Integer2 also have a '1' then the statement can be executed. Otherwise the statement cannot be executed. 

For Example:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

YES;int = 1 (00000001)

NO;int = 2  (00000010)

showPopup(button:int)

if(button & YES)

if(button & NO)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In the above example, my understanding is that if the user clicks the button 'YES' then 'button' will return the binary digits of 00000001. If so then the '1' in 'button' would line up with the '1' in 'YES' and the statement could be executed. 

Along the same lines, the following statement - 'if(button & NO)' - would not be executed because the binary digits of the button clicked were 00000001, in which the '1' would not line up with the '1' in the 'NO' statement (00000010).

Is my understanding correct? Or have I got this totally wrong?

You aren't totally wrong, but your example would be better if you set NO = 0. Then you have conventional boolean logic, which is appropriate for a push button.

Thus, you have:

YES = 1 = true = 00000001

NO = 0 = false = 00000000

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -