Why TP and SL levels are not visible in MT5 history?

To add comments, please log in or register
Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  

I wonder why MT5 offers less information about the details of a trade in history than its predecessor?

I was experimenting with a signal in MT5 and I was surprised to see that the TP and SL levels of a trade are not visible to a subscriber or anyone to see.

fxsaber
10292
fxsaber  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

MT5 versus MT4 Terminal Screens - Disappointed with changes in MT 5

fxsaber, 2017.07.07 08:46

First run this script

#include <MT4Orders.mqh> // https://www.mql5.com/en/code/16006

#define Ask SymbolInfoDouble(_Symbol, SYMBOL_ASK)
#define SLIPPAGE 100
#define OFFSET (SLIPPAGE * _Point)

void OnStart()
{
  if (OrderSelect(OrderSend(_Symbol, OP_BUY, 1, Ask, SLIPPAGE, 0, 0), SELECT_BY_TICKET))
  {
    OrderModify(OrderTicket(), OrderOpenPrice(), OrderOpenPrice() - OFFSET, OrderOpenPrice() + OFFSET, 0);
    
    if (OrderSelect(OrderTicket(), SELECT_BY_TICKET))
      OrderClose(OrderTicket(), OrderLots(), OrderClosePrice(), SLIPPAGE);
  }
}

Result:

'6145767': instant buy 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14156 (deviation: 100)
'6145767': accepted instant buy 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14156 (deviation: 100)
'6145767': deal #140159795 buy 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14156 done (based on order #156755661)
'6145767': order #156755661 buy 1.00 / 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14156 done in 252.283 ms
'6145767': modify #156755661 buy 1.00 EURUSD sl: 0.00000, tp: 0.00000 -> sl: 1.14056, tp: 1.14256
'6145767': accepted modify #156755661 buy 1.00 EURUSD sl: 0.00000, tp: 0.00000 -> sl: 1.14056, tp: 1.14256
'6145767': modify #156755661 buy 1.00 EURUSD -> sl: 1.14056, tp: 1.14256 done in 109.586 ms
'6145767': instant sell 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14147, close #156755661 buy 1.00 EURUSD 1.14156 (deviation: 100)
'6145767': accepted instant sell 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14147, close #156755661 buy 1.00 EURUSD 1.14156 (deviation: 100)
'6145767': deal #140159796 sell 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14147 done (based on order #156755662)
'6145767': order #156755662 sell 1.00 / 1.00 EURUSD at 1.14147 done in 219.817 ms


Then run this

#include <MT4Orders.mqh> // https://www.mql5.com/en/code/16006

void OnStart()
{
  if (OrderSelect(OrdersHistoryTotal() - 1, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_HISTORY))
    OrderPrint();
}

Result

#140159796 2017.07.07 09:38:31 buy 1.00 EURUSD 1.14156 1.14056 1.14256 2017.07.07 09:38:32 1.14147 0.00 0.00 -7.88 0


In this way it is possible to learn the SL/TP of closed positions.

Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  

Thank you very much for your detailed solution, but its a workaround.

My question remains, why in MT5 we see less information about a trade?

The TP and most importantly SL levels are very useful info regarding a strategy or a signal.

fxsaber
10292
fxsaber  
You just need to be able to properly close positions.
Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  
fxsaber:
You just need to be able to properly close positions.

What do you mean?

Which is the proper way to close a position?

fxsaber
10292
fxsaber  
Eleni Anna Branou:

What do you mean?

Which is the proper way to close a position?

I showed it in the script. If you want details, see the source library.

This can not be explained in a few words.

Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  
fxsaber:

I showed it in the script. If you want details, see the source library.

This can not be explained in a few words.

My question wasn't if its technically possible to track TP and SL levels of trades in MT5, but why the developer hasn't include that option as it had in MT4?

If you see the trading history of MT5 you will see the lack of those data, that are present in the 'soon' discontinued MT4.

fxsaber
10292
fxsaber  
Eleni Anna Branou:

My question wasn't if its technically possible to track TP and SL levels of trades in MT5, but why the developer hasn't include that option as it had in MT4?

If you see the trading history of MT5 you will see the lack of those data, that are present in the 'soon' discontinued MT4.

Have you created a topic to chat? Or do you need a solution that works now?

Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  
fxsaber:

Have you created a topic to chat? Or do you need a solution that works now?

I would like all MT5 signals (in this site) to provide the TP and SL information that is already available for MT4 signals.

It has nothing to do with me, but with the improvement of MT5 platform.

Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
6678
Eleni Anna Branou  
fxsaber:

Translate this

Thank you fxsaber for this info, but I would like an insider (Metaquotes) answer to my question.

Why they decided to provide less information (no TP and SL levels) about trade history in their new platform?

This is against 'transparency' and subscribers information when it comes to signals.

fxsaber
10292
fxsaber  
The reason is understood by everyone who knows the architecture of the platform.
123
To add comments, please log in or register