My understanding of leverage so far, please correct me if I am wrong !!

I am fairly new to this so please don't be annoyed if I sound silly . The subject is forex .

So I've done research over the internet and you hear leverage this and that, leverage is dangerous ,take care , but leverage if used properly can give you some amazing returns but you need to gain a lot of experience ,know what you are doing and so on.

But from what I understand so far from my own experience on the demo account is that we are already using leverage in order to make any money.So if 1 mini lot is 10 000 dollars worth of currency to enter a position with 1mini lot or 0.1 I would need 10 000 dollars (in broad terms). So at the moment i sold 0.3 on the euro/usd ,my margin is 360.31 , I am 11 pips in profit and I am making 33$ so far.

So basically I entered a position of 0.3 which would be 30k but I only paid 360 to the broker to be able to enter. So with no leverage if I wanted to enter a position of 0.3 I would need to have 30k in cash in my account .

Where am I so far ?

1. You don't pay 360 to the broker, he impounds it and releases it when you close the trade.
  2. As you said, leverage can be dangerous. You shouldn't be even thinking about it. You should be thinking about your risk on a trade. The leverage just allows it. Never risk more than a small percentage of your balance on any single trade.
  3. In code: Risk depends on your initial stop loss, lot size, and the value of the pair.
    • You place the stop where it needs to be - where the reason for the trade is no longer valid. E.g. trading a support bounce the stop goes below the support.
    • Account Balance * percent/100 = RISK = OrderLots * (|OrderOpenPrice - OrderStopLoss| * DeltaPerLot + CommissionPerLot) (Note OOP-OSL includes the SPREAD, and DeltaPerLot is usually around $10/pip but it takes account of the exchange rates of the pair vs. your account currency.)
    • Do NOT use TickValue by itself - DeltaPerLot