Inconsistency between visual and quantitative signals

Hi all,

I am quite new to mql4. I have just created my first EA which takes signals to open trade when main Stochastic line crosses signal line in the extreme area - this is theory.

It works fine visually with the H1 timeframe. However when I run it through EA code the signals come in totally different moments - please see the picture below.

I have tested the code and it seems to work fine with correct logic...

I presume that this behavior is caused by calculating Stochastic indicator for each tick. Even though I am looking on a H1 graph where the signal havent occurred yet, on a tick level Stochastic main line momentarily crossed the signal line and so EA closes/opens trade.

Can you please help me with this? Is there any workaround or am I getting something wrong?

Thanks.

Porentius:

Hi all,

I am quite new to mql4. I have just created my first EA which takes signals to open trade when main Stochastic line crosses signal line in the extreme area - this is theory.

It works fine visually with the H1 timeframe. However when I run it through EA code the signals come in totally different moments - please see the picture below.

I have tested the code and it seems to work fine with correct logic...

I presume that this behavior is caused by calculating Stochastic indicator for each tick. Even though I am looking on a H1 graph where the signal havent occurred yet, on a tick level Stochastic main line momentarily crossed the signal line and so EA closes/opens trade.

Can you please help me with this? Is there any workaround or am I getting something wrong?

Thanks.

To be able to tell for sure you need to post a code snippet with the logic.

That said. If your logic is based on every tick, it is most likely the case. If your strategy only needs to be based on closed bars, code it that way.