Scaling Bitmap

How do you guys rescale the bitmap label objects in your graphical interfaces, if the display DPI settings differs from default?

It seems like a simple question, but I am not an expert for picture formats, so some help would be appreciated. I can rescale the other objects, but I got no idea how to treat the bitmaps.

One way is to scale into groups:

96 DPI base group (usually 16 pixels images)
120 DPI 1.25  (usually 20 pixel images)
144 DPI 1.5    (usually 24 pixel images)
192 DPI 2       (usually 32 pixel images)
288 DPI 3   
384 DPI 4       (usually 64 pixel images)

You calculate first upon your DPI what is the closest lower group and scale to that (you have icon folders for each group already scaled)
and just load from the correct group.

I'm no expert in pictures also, but the groups are something I read that microsoft use.

Amir Yacoby:

One way is to scale into groups:

96 DPI base group (usually 16 pixels images)
120 DPI 1.25  (usually 20 pixel images)
144 DPI 1.5    (usually 24 pixel images)
192 DPI 2       (usually 32 pixel images)
288 DPI 3   
384 DPI 4       (usually 64 pixel images)

You calculate first upon your DPI what is the closest lower group and scale to that (you have icon folders for each group already scaled)
and just load from the correct group.

I'm no expert in pictures also, but the groups are something I read that microsoft use.

Thank you, that could be a way indeed. 

However even Microsoft must scale icons when the proper resolutions are missing, and in fact the icons in the MT terminal toolbar are also upscaled in a raw manner.

I believed I could also supply a single resolution bitmap and scale it on the fly, it would be safer to handle, and the image size would naturally fit to the already scaled layout.

Ex Ovo Omnia:

Thank you, that could be a way indeed.