Disbelief - It's luck not skill - page 10

bigFish:
How can you say that Forex is luck?

I've been trading the same method for around 8 years. The method is reasonably diversified, and involves trading approximately 10 non correlated sub systems.

My returns over the past 8 year have been fairly consistant. However, when you look at each sub system, the variation in returns are all over the place. The system that returned 190% last year actually lost 15% in the previous year. The reason for those differences was nothing other than random chance. You may not be prepared to accept that, but its the reality of trading with any kind of an edge.

Years ago when I first started trading, it was very common to see dozens (and sometimes hundreds) of people on forums collaborating to develop trading methods. Such collaboration is a complete waste of time, but one thing that it did teach me was the distribution in returns from any method are completey random. Its not uncommon to see 100 people testing the same EA with the same parameter set, and to see a massive distribution in results. That didtribution is due to random chance, or luck.

It just takes one trader somewhere in the world to click a button and move the market, and that can impact my trade in a positive or negative fashion. I cant control that, I cant predict that. FFS the trader may actually hit the wrong buton and buy when he wanted to sell.

To be profitable, traders give up the ridiculous idea that they can predict the actions of hundreds of thousands of other market participants (on the basis of zero information), and they need to start focussing on whats happening NOW.

Of course support and resistance works, trading with the trend works, cutting losses short, allowing profits to run works, and TA works, but its a probability based outcome, and one where realising when you have luck on your side (or against you) can have a massive impact on your bottom line.