How to code? - page 312

How is your LastProfitHigh declared?

If it is declared within the body of the function (start() for example) it will always change value if you do not declare it as static. So, if it is declared as local (within the function) try declaring it at the global scope or as static variable and that way it will "inherit" values between two ticks.

aud4xtrader:
Hi all,

I am new to coding and have been slowly learning the language and syntax but have come up with a question about how MT4 updates the variables.

I have tried to code and simple EA that displays the highest profit a currently open trade has had and should only update if a new high is reached but what is happening is the amount is moving down and up as the profit does, I can't seem to see my error in the code logic.

I check to make sure to selected trade is still open

t_CloseTime=OrderCloseTime(); //returns 0 if order is not closed

if(t_CloseTime==0) //Order is closed if not zero.

{

if(OrderProfit() > LastProfitHigh) LastProfitHigh=OrderProfit();

if(LastProfitHigh >= MinProfit && MinProfitReached==false) MinProfitReached=true;

}//endif

So if the logic is correct why does this variable "LastProfitHigh" go up and down....

Thanks for your help.

New to coding

mladen:
How is your LastProfitHigh declared? If it is declared within the body of the function (start() for example) it will always change value if you do not declare it as static. So, if it is declared as local (within the function) try declaring it at the global scope or as static variable and that way it will "inherit" values between two ticks.

Hi mladen,

I have now moved the variable outside the start() func and declared it "static double", thanks for the answer and fingers crossed it will display correctly.

The logic of the code is stated correctly??

aud4xtrader

The logic is OK