The reality check: Is the magic of MQL4 worth it?

Hello all,

I'm new.

You can tell that I'm new, right? Please to meet you all. My, it's a hundred years too early for me to appear before all of you wise folks, but here I am, wishing to ask a burning question, so if I may...

"Programming in MQL4 is fun, but can you, one day, rest your ballooning butt on the beach and let your trusty brainchild humming half a world away making you a living?"

Well, there goes my daydreaming mind. May be it was the goal that some of you started with, hmm, but how realistic is it to you now? Is it even in the slightest, tiniest, skinniest realistic?

I've been investing for three years now, if you could call the act of amassing blue-chip stocks and hold them steadfast a viable investing strategy. I, however, wanted to experiment a bit more and came across this love-hate relationship with the concept of automated trading. In my mind I was drooling with the prospect of being free, hell, I could even quit this lifeless job and hours! Yes, that's the ultimate deal! Ah, no, but Mr. Cynic inside of me started to question the viability of such dangerous proposition, citing numerous reasons why it and other investors say that such plan would not work. Finally I took hold of my chair and mustered up all of my courage to start filling this screen in desperation, hoping to snap up some invaluable insight from those who are really living, breathing in the thick of it all.

So... what can you really expect? What must I prepare? What must I be beware of?

I'm happy to be shot down to Earth, but I wouldn't mind a glimpse of hope either!

Thanks for your time. It's ninety nine years now, I hope.

I'll shut up.

Ben.

Nihonsuki:

Hello all,

I'm new.

You can tell that I'm new, right? Please to meet you all. My, it's a hundred years too early for me to appear before all of you wise folks, but here I am, wishing to ask a burning question, so if I may...