MT4 Optimization and dates settings

Hi everyone,

I'm new to mt4 and EA world and I have one question about optimization and dates settings.

I have been programming and backtesting an EA with Dukascopy's ticks data (I use Tick Data Suite). Once the EA optimized, I get the best parameters and I can set them directly by click right and select "Parameters". I launch a new simulation with these parameters (without optimization obviously) in order to see my beautiful positive curve. But I have remarked my profit is different that the previous optimization result whereas it uses the same EA's parameters.

After few researches in the mql4 forum and Tick Data Suite troubleshoot, It seems that mt4 has a problem with dates settings during optimization processing. If I understood well, the first pass uses the date entered correctly but the next passes use whole history data. In my case, the results of the first pass is effectively the same with optimization enable or not, but for the other passes, the results are different and I don't know what really dates are used.

Do you know this problem ? If it is that I think, Do you have any solutions to overcome it ?

Concretely, my aim is to optimize the EA on a given period time and test its robustness to another.

Thank you.

Is your MT4 terminal disconnected from your Broker while you are Optimizing and backtesting ? if not how do you know the spread is the same for both runs ?

I'm connected on a demo account during optimizing and backtesting.

I don't know how spread are managed. Being connected to the broker modify the spread ? I thought it was either within the history files or fixed.

I'm going to take some time to determine my spread, that's very important point. In addition, I will display the date actually taken during optimization to see if my problem depends on it.

Patsux:

I'm connected on a demo account during optimizing and backtesting.