Newbie coder question: Fractal EA Scalper trading logic. A little help please...

Hello,

I am a beginner MT4 coder who needs some help. Luckily, it is not going to take too long to explain my problem.
I am trying to create a Fractal EA Scalper that takes 5 pips from every fractal that displays itself on the screen. But I cannot get the trading logic to work as I would like.

Here it is for a SELL trade:
if (iCustom(NULL, NULL, "Fractals[1]",0,0) > Ask)

And here it is for a BUY trade:
if (iCustom(NULL, NULL, "Fractals[1]",1,0) < Ask)

Because the "Fractal[1]" indicator is imported into the EA, I thought all I had to do was add the trading logic. I have tried many permeations using Close[0] instead of Ask. But to no avail.

Can someone tell me where I am going wrong?
Thank you in advance.
davefx

What timeframe is NULL ?

RaptorUK:
What timeframe is NULL ?

Hi,

NULL means the EA will operate on any TF. and any FX pair.

Thanks.

davefx

I don't think a fractal will ever appear on bar 0 or bar 1. It takes 3 to fractal...

serpentsnoir:
I don't think a fractal will ever appear on bar 0 or bar 1. It takes 3 to fractal...

Hi,

if (iCustom(NULL, NULL, "Fractals[1]",0*,0**) > Ask)

* This is the buffer index.

** This is the "shift".

Thanks.

davefx

that is correct. and you have hard-coded 0 for the shift. you don't get a fractal appearing before bar 2 because the first fractal to appear can only show after the hi/lo of the two bars before and two bars after are known.

I also think the NULL is not a valid time frame, 0 is tho.

serpentsnoir:

that is correct. and you have hard-coded 0 for the shift. you don't get a fractal appearing before bar 2 because the first fractal to appear can only show after the hi/lo of the two bars before and two bars after are known.

I also think the NULL is not a valid time frame, 0 is tho.

Hi,

So is it the "shift" that I need to change?

Thanks.

davefx