How to get 2 EAs to 'talk' to each other on separate MT4 instances

Hi,

I am new to MetaTrader and MQ4, so please excuse any obvious questions. However, I have failed to find the answer online. Here is my question:

I wish to develop my own 'EA' running on 2 different MT4 instances connected to 2 different brokers. Under certain circumstances, I would like one EA (running on one MT4 instance) to send a 'close' signal to the other EA (running on the other MT4 instance). Is this possible?

One suggestion is to write a DLL. The first EA would call the DLL to force it to write something to a file which the second 'EA' would read and interpret this as a sell signal. Would this work?

Is there any better way to do it?

Thanks,

Bernard

I dont know if you can point MT4 to the same directory in order to access the file. Also, if you could would there be read/write issues on a file opened by another program, and perhaps still open ? no idea, but I will be interested in the answer.

MickGlancy:

I dont know if you can point MT4 to the same directory in order to access the file. Also, if you could would there be read/write issues on a file opened by another program, and perhaps still open ? no idea, but I will be interested in the answer.

Hi Mick.

I will keep you posted. I was thinking the DLL would simply create a file in the 'tmp' directory. The 2nd EA would read it. I dont think this would cause a problem because the 2nd EA would not be writing to the same file.

Anyway, do you know of a better way/approach? My suggestion appears/feels quite primitive.

The other question I forgot to ask was....is there any known issues/problems running multiple MT4 instances on the same Windows machine?

bgaughran:
The other question I forgot to ask was....is there any known issues/problems running multiple MT4 instances on the same Windows machine?

also easy to use : windows registry

one EA write there, other read and delete/archive

zzuegg: