Backtesting it's a joke?

Really I don't understand, when I was absolute beginner I use to get different results testing my ea with same parameters, then I understand that the chart have to be error free, ok, now the chart is error free so why the results of the evening are exactly the opposite of the one of the afternoon? Same parameters, same period, every tick for both and the results are completely different! Please help me to understand before I get mad. Thank you!

Hi Mario, to answer such questions youself you need to eat many many breads and read books and experiment. backtesting is a joke if you dont understand the details.

Depending on idea of your strategy answer may be different.

-Imagine your EA is trading the equity curve, then results will depend on previous results and if you start your EA 100 bars later you may begin with DD instead of PRofit (on morning) and your EA may decide to stop trading for a while, this way trading curve may look very different. But this is more advanced topic.

-Your broker may have corrected 1 peak and you had this peak as winner which was biggest earner

- If you really want do backtest, then pick another tool which is pure backtest oriented. I use tradestation and wealth-lab. MT4 is great tool for automating but unfortunetly backtesting skills are missing. I assume those capabilities are cut with intention. I hope MT5 will be better

What kind of strategy does your EA follow?

In order to achieve consistent results with the strategy tester, you need to lock down all the variables.

Basically, you need to ensure that your history data and parameters do not change.

One example of how you may innocently skew a test would be to perform your 1st test, then have the tester platform online, allowing the spread to change. Then the changed spread may be used for your 2nd test. So one of the important steps is to ensure that your tester platform never connects to a broker.