New to MetaTrader...any useful EAs to study to introduce me to MQL?

I'm new to MetaTrader and looking to experiment with my own EA. I've done plenty of C and Javascript before so it should not be too difficult. I have a demo account with a broker and tried out the two example EAs provided (MACD and Moving Average) on EURUSD. When I ran a strategy test on them their performance was rubbish and lost a lot money. Is it just the current market or are they always that rubbish? Can anyone name a freely available EA that usually gains instead of losing? I'm considering testing out some Elliott Wave analysis in my EA.

Edit: after reading another post I should point out that I would be starting with only a few hundred dollars, so I'm particularly interested to hear about EAs or strategies that work reasonably well from such a small initial balance.

basil_brush:

Can anyone name a freely available EA that usually gains instead of losing?

It depends what level of returns you're expecting and what level of risk you're prepared to take. Investment theory isn't perfect, but if you can earn, say, 3% per year from a fairly risk-free investment, it's crazy to expect to make 3% per month without a corresponding huge increase in your level of risk - let alone the 10%/20%/30% per month which many people on this forum think they can get on a consistent, risk-free basis. It's like asking for a time machine or a faster-than-light warp drive.

hey Basil. A few hundred dollars, you will need to be quite active to grow your fund into something considerable. I started with $200 only. More than anything else I would recommend reading one of the legend's, Van Tharp's "Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom" book before deciding to spend time on an EA's. It is like no other book, and after reading it you may find that a super simple EA is highly profitable - contrary to many belief systems that involve 'detailed' EAs.