adventures of a newbie - page 6

cloudbreaker:

No worries. With only a few amendments, it should actually do the job for you.

You should start by amending the TakeProfit "error" I built in for you. Have a look at how the StopLoss is done for a clue.

Once you've got it working, I hope you'll start adding in error handling, and some operator-friendly stuff like Print() statements so you can see easily in the logs what it is doing.

Pseudo code is important before committing to code (even for seasoned programmers), but don't overcook it.

You seem to attract help due to your good-natured manner. My guess is that you either work in HR or are interested in human psychology?

CB

Hey CB,

It is nice that someone said I have a good natured manner. I am a psychologist by background, 2 degrees with an emphasis on personality assessment and development and positive psychology. I have done a lot of work with HR and training managers on how to make their staff enjoy work more (which ultimately results in a higher bottom line and higher creativity).

You guys are wonderful here. I am amazed at good human nature, and will repay the deed and help you provide me thousand fold when the time comes. ('Pay It Forward' - watch the film if you haven't seen it ;)

Hey Tim,

I figured out the array thing you set me to do (I think). The code is below, is that correct. I'm posting it here even though I included the EA so other's who will be looking for similar info can see quickly what's up.

string Pair[] = {"EURUSD","GBPUSD","USDJPY","USDCHF","AUDUSD"}; //***Global Declaration of Array 'Pair' so we can call it in 'start' function   

int count = ArraySize(Pair);                //computer doesn't know how many elements array has, this is necessary to set the value for 'for' loop