RSI open order at end time frame

Hello all,

first of all i am pretty new at EA coding, second I have looked for a related post in the forum itself and on mighty google, even on stackoverflow.

Now I wrote a simple EA to open an order if certain conditions are met, one of which is  double RSI_1 = iRSI(NULL,PERIOD_H1,14,PRICE_CLOSE,0) > 70. Well as you can see in the attachment the order is opened not at the close price of the candle but higher, according to the picture it should have opened at the next candle on the right.

I would think, according to the documentation that by using price_close the rsi would get calculated at the close price for the time frame selected, but it doesn't look that way. what am i missing? how can i fix it?

thanks 

Files:
Capture.JPG  30 kb

Hi Fabio

You need to wait until the bar closes and the next one opens, then check the bar close. So you will be looking at Bar 1, not Bar 0. So you just need to change the Shift parameter in your RSI call:

iRSI(NULL,PERIOD_H1,14,PRICE_CLOSE,1) 

Cheers

Stuart Browne:

Hi Fabio

You need to wait until the bar closes and the next one opens, then check the bar close. So you will be looking at Bar 1, not Bar 0. So you just need to change the Shift parameter in your RSI call:

iRSI(NULL,PERIOD_H1,14,PRICE_CLOSE,1) 

Cheers

Stuart,

thank you for your reply, would that be valid for the others indicators i am using?

thanks 

Fabio Geraci:

Stuart,

thank you for your reply, would that be valid for the others indicators i am using?

thanks 

Depends on the indicator and your strategy Fabio, but in most cases, yes.

Cheers
Stu

Thanks Stuart, i will do some testing on my strategy.

Stuart Browne:
Depends on the indicator and your strategy Fabio, but in most cases, yes.

Cheers
Stu

Hello Stuart,

I have implemented some more logic to my EA, but I am struggling to get to work as i thought it should:

double Macd_Main = iMACD(NULL,PERIOD_CURRENT,12,16,9,PRICE_CLOSE,MODE_MAIN,1);