mt5 strategy tester ticks - page 7

Ubzen:
Nice try :)))  Still never done for mt4 what makes you so optimistic it'll happen with mt5?
In fact, they backtracked with MT4. They supress support of custom FXT and now we need a thihrd party tool to use it. You probably better know this history than me, as I am only use MT4 since Nov.2011.

Ubzen:

I'm studying oop designs at the moment also learning about mt5|mql5. Once I feel comfortable, I'll move the thread :-) ** It'll probably consume allot of my time on this forum.

If you lead this project, you can count on me, but I can't lead it as I have other project.

Ubzen:
Given time and a determined reverse-engineer, this would be your best hope.
Are you talking about hcs format ? Or what else to "reverse-engineer" ?

angevoyageur: Are you talking about hcs format ? Or what else to "reverse-engineer" ?

.hcc for period_m1.

ticks.dat for tick_data.

My guess is that the above files are protected. Not simple as converting a binary-file into a text-file and viewing the contents. If someone knows the format of the .hcc file, care only about period_m1 and don't mind the platform generating generic ticks, then replacing/modifying this file might be enough. I think of .hcc like .hst.

ticks.dat file as I understand it is the generated ticks format. Same reasons above ^. Just like needing a 3rd_Party for .fxt files, you'll need another which can not only create ticks.dat but also fight mt5 from over-writing your files.

I'm not a software engineer by profession. And stand to be corrected. 

RaptorUK: Simple,  MT4 allows the User to have control of the History data,  this is essential for a Test Environment. When/if a MT5 user is allowed the same facility then it will be a much simpler proposition to use tick data.
We're going in cycles again lol. You start out talking Tick_Data. When I point-out that mt4 cannot Import Ticks [without 3rd Parties Hacks]. You change the subject to Period_M1 Importing.

Ubzen:

.hcc for period_m1.