Parameter conversion not allowed error message

Hi, I compiled a dll in C# to import into my metatrader 5 EA but I get the following error.

Parameter conversion not allowed.

Here's the code:

#import "C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 5\MQL5\Experts\Advisors\bin\Debug\Analytical.dll"
bool Interphase(int argc, string &args[]);
#import

and here's where I try to use the function...

if (Interphase(3, signal)==true)
{
    // Do stuff...
}

I'm new to MQL5 so I don't understand the data type of the signal.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

It's not recommended to use a fully qualified name of the loadable module of type Drive:\Directory\FileName.Ext. MQL5 libraries are loaded from the terminal_dir\MQL5\Libraries folder.

Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import)
Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import)
  • www.mql5.com
Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import) - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

Alain Verleyen:

Hi, I can't find the\MQL5\Libraries folder, all I have is:

Any ideas?

Ok, so I added the dll to my Include folder...
The new code is:
#import "Analytical.dll"
bool Interphase(int argc, string &args[]);
#import
And here's the function call:
if (Interphase(3, CheckPointer(GetPointer(signal)))==true)
   {
     // Do stuff...
   }
when I try to compile it, I get the error message:
'CheckPointer' - parameter passed as reference, variable expected
What now?

You should read the documentation. CheckPointer() doesn't return a bool.

Alain Verleyen:
You should read the documentation. CheckPointer() doesn't return a bool.

Understood, the problem is I'm used to programming in C# where you can simply declare the currency pairs you wish to trade e.g.
string currencypairs = "AUDCAD, CHFJPY, EURNZD, GBPJPY, TRYJPY, USDSEK, AUDCHF, EURAUD, EURSEK, GBPNZD";