Open long and short in MQL5

HI! Can MQL5 Open a long order without close it and open another short order? I'm new to MQL5, but I can do it in MQL4.

Thanks

Clive 

Directly - no, because of the new system of working with positions.

But this can be done virtually, see the article A Virtual Order Manager to track orders within the position-centric MetaTrader 5 environment for details.

Alexx:

Directly - no, because of the new system of working with positions.

But this can be done virtually, see the article A Virtual Order Manager to track orders within the position-centric MetaTrader 5 environment for details.

Thanks. single way trading doesn't seem really good for making profit. 

ClipWork:

Why?

Triangle Hedge
Triangle Hedge
  • votes: 22
  • Atsushi Yamanaka
  • www.mql5.com
Opens a virtual hedge position in MetaTrader 5.

enivid 2012.07.25 10:11 
ClipWork  2012.07.24 16:18 

Why?

Simple,

Trading using several trading strategy (automatic or manual trading) will definitely fail.

In effect :

1. There are no possibility trading several EAs with different trading strategies on one single pair. Very big LOL here.  

2. Can not copy trade from another traders. Forget , PAMM, MAM, they will definitely doom the account. 

Forget "don't put all eggs in one basket, read: don't put all your money in one trading strategy", just forget it. 

:D

onewithzachy:

Simple,

Trading using several trading strategy (automatic or manual trading) will definitely fail.

In effect :

1. There are no possibility trading several EAs with different trading strategies on one single pair. Very big LOL here.

2. Can not copy trade from another traders. Forget  PAMM, MAM, they will definitely doom the account. 

Forget "don't put all eggs in one basket, read: don't put all your money in one trading strategy", just forget it. 

Then consider this:

When you are trading both long and short at the same time with same volume are you making any profit when you close both at the same time?