stop loss

on stop loss what did I do wrong I am new to FX trading so I a sure this is a simple question but I dont understand why it didnt close at the stop loss point. I did it the same as always and this doesnt happen.

buy            s/l              t/p      sold             loss

291.99      291.00    292.37    279.39         4880.00    

dont want to make the same mistake why didnt it close at stop loss point

Basic Principles - Trading Operations - MetaTrader 5 Help
  • www.metatrader5.com
Before you proceed to study the trade functions of the platform, you must have a clear understanding of the basic terms: order, deal and position...

newtraderz:

on stop loss what did I do wrong I am new to FX trading so I a sure this is a simple question but I dont understand why it didnt close at the stop loss point. I did it the same as always and this doesnt happen.

buy            s/l              t/p      sold             loss

279.99      291.99    292.37    279.39         4880.00    

dont want to make the same mistake why didnt it close at stop loss point

As a general rule in trading ... real or financial ... when you buy something ... if the price is higher than the purchase price, you don't have a loss,

So the stop loss price is always set below the buy price.

Look into the logs: Experts and Journal to see why it was closed.

Use https://www.mql5.com/en/docs/trading/ordercheck before sending the order.

Documentation on MQL5: Trade Functions / OrderCheck
Documentation on MQL5: Trade Functions / OrderCheck
  • www.mql5.com
OrderCheck - Trade Functions - MQL5 Reference - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

it was a typo s/l was at 291.00  it was bought at 291.99 I have done this same thing before I know it isnt the best numbers but this has stop the loss everytime before at the time I entered. 

this is what I did. I thought it was right why did it let it go past the s/t

Files:

newtraderz #: