Margin & Free Margin problem on BackTest ?

Hello everyone, I hope you're well.

I'm still a beginner with this fabulous Metatrader software, but I do have a small question about calculating free margin during a backtest.

For example, when I have 2 positions open at the same time, 1 long and 1 short, on an initial capital of $100 I should have a free margin of only $26,64 (using the following calculation : 100 $ - (36,68$ x 2) = 26,64$ ),  but I find that I have a larger margin than if I had only one position open.

1 position

2 position

Can someone explain to me what I've missed?

Best Reguards,
ZeroCafeine

This is one of those questions which is less about MetaTrader or MQL and more about general trading knowledge.

The following might help you understand ...

You should also do further research to better understand.

ZeroCafeine: Can someone explain to me what I've missed?

Each position uses margin.

ZeroCafeineFor example, when I have 2 positions open at the same time, 1 long and 1 short, on an initial capital of $100 I should have a free margin of only $26,64 (using the following calculation : 100 $ - (36,68$ x 2) = 26,64$ ),  but I find that I have a larger margin than if I had only one position open.

Margin is irrespective of trade direction, and usually also irrespective of a "hedged position" (two opposite trades), and usually both positions will have margin requirements.

Some contract specifications allow for a reduced margin requirement for a "hedged position", but that is not always the case.

It also depends of the broker/symbols settings, with 2 opposite positions on the same symbol, the margin can sometimes be "share" partially. See SYMBOL_MARGIN_HEDGED in the documentation.