The Parabolic Sar is misleading because it doesn't report the "No Trend" Market... Or does it?

Hello everyone, I am studying the Parabolic Sar in depth and none of the internet tutorials I have found talk about how the Psar reports Sideways Market situations (ie "no trend").

It is as if for this indicator the market was either only bullish or only bearish. And as we all know that is not a good interpretation of what really happens.

So, the question is: Does the Parabolic Sar really suffer this informative "amputation" or is there a way for this indicator to also report "No Trend" Market situations?

Thanks!

adenauer692: Hello everyone, I am studying the Parabolic Sar in depth and none of the internet tutorials I have found talk about how the Psar reports Sideways Market situations (ie "no trend"). It is as if for this indicator the market was either only bullish or only bearish. And as we all know that is not a good interpretation of what really happens. So, the question is: Does the Parabolic Sar really suffer this informative "amputation" or is there a way for this indicator to also report "No Trend" Market situations? Thanks!
The Parabolic SAR was never intended to be used to identify a trend or "no-trend". It was created to identify potential reversals.

Thank you Fernando, you are always very precise and I appreciate it...

So, I guess since the PSAR was invented by J.Welles Wilder in June 1978 at the same time as the ADX (which does report the side market), Wilder must have decided "not to provide redundant information" with the PSAR.

adenauer692 #: Thank you Fernando, you are always very precise and I appreciate it... So, I guess since the PSAR was invented by J.Welles Wilder in June 1978 at the same time as the ADX (which does report the side market), Wilder must have decided "not to provide redundant information" with the PSAR.
I might help by reading his book — New Concepts in Technical Trading Systems (John Welles Wilder Jr) [1978, Trend Research]