Trade101 multi-currency indicator - page 7

It is not clear what principle is used to form a portfolio of 14 pairs. There are pairs with forward and reverse quotes. Could they be moving in the same direction? What makes it happen?

And if it is not so, how can they be bought or sold at the same time? I have no experience with portfolio strategies - please explain.

After scratching my head, I think I've started to get the gist of the method. The original sets of pairs:

1) it's short in the original:

GBPUSD EURGBP GBPCHF CHFJPY AUDJPY EURJPY USDCHF (6 currencies / 7 pairs)

2) long:

CADJPY AUDUSD USDJPY EURUSD EURCHF GBPJPY USDCAD (7 currencies / 7 pairs)

Some currencies within sets of pairs are traded inversely, performing reductions within sets and making some assumptions (about the equivalence of lots, etc., and for the sake of clarity, calling these lots by portions) we transform our sets into (- means sold, + bought, the figure - the number of portions):

1) -GBP, -2*EUR, +CHF, -AUD, +3*JPY

2) +GBP, +2*EUR, -CHF, +AUD, -3*JPY

As expected, and it was obvious from the start, - full balance. But these transformed sets are easier to analyse and understand what, how and why.

- The USD is "hedged" within the sets due to unpredictability;

- JPY is the main driver of JPY sets, the pairs involving it are volatile and the movement of the yen in the pair is difficult to "outbid";

- The 2nd driving force is the major European currencies (EUR, GBP), the AUD kangaroo is often counter-directional to the JPY due to powerful movements of the latter;

- Chiff is involved in EURCHF and GBPCHF pairs and therefore its sign is opposite;

Having displayed all this "money" in such a way, it becomes clear why at a purposeful market movement pairs of one set profit and another set loss like by a magic wand.