Bayesian regression - Has anyone made an EA using this algorithm? - page 11

Mike:
The theories of price behaviour described in various scholarly trading books are unsupported by anything other than the authors' reasoning.
Price behaviour is the behaviour of an aggregate of different groups of market participants, the ratio and value of their open positions changing dynamically and stochastically. :)
To my mind, it's interesting (for a researcher), but not the monetary one.
Earlier I formulated two possible strategies - trend-finding and pips-finding. The first strategy is reduced to detecting the beginning and the end of a trend.
The second one is catching of small (almost noisy) price movements. I think both strategies should be formulated in terms of merely statistical characteristics of price and/or price increments at corresponding timeframe.
Recently I have come across an interesting phrase - statistical arbitrage. I am studying it now. :)

Roger that. Just one Fact - stochastic price behaviour involves stochastic patterns, that is, patterns where the outcome will not be guaranteed, but will happen with probability. But that's not all.

Probability has a confidence interval. And so if p is a model - its confidence interval is provably larger than, say, a naive p = 0.5 + its confidence interval - then we have a stable (not strictly speaking, of course), empirically tested model that can do MO outperform overhead.

Alexey Burnakov:

Roger that. Just one Fact - stochastic price behaviour involves stochastic patterns, that is, patterns where the outcome will not be guaranteed, but will happen with probability. But that's not all.

Probability has a confidence interval. And so if p is model - its confidence interval is provably larger than, say, the naive p = 0.5 + its confidence interval, then we have a stable (not strictly speaking, of course), empirically tested model that can do MO outperform overheads.

I agree with you completely.