Fractal theory - page 5

elugovoy:
7 to 72 hours on a normal workstation (CPU ~2.7-3GHz) at crypto-attack level KA1 (only the encrypted message is known).
I'm not an expert on ciphers of course, but the numbers look strange to say the least. It's not even a cipher then. I suppose that the present level of encryption corrects itself with progress in computational power (let's say we see that the "standard" size of the keys grows). So these figures probably refer to a cipher that is no longer modern.

Candid:
I'm not an expert on ciphers, of course, but the figures look strange to say the least. It's not even a cipher anymore. I suppose that the modern cipher level corrects itself with progress in computational power (let's say we see that the "standard" size of the keys grows). So these figures probably refer to a cipher that is no longer modern.

The numbers refer to block ciphers based on DES and its modifications (e.g. 3-DES), depending on key size and modification.

By the way, the RSA algorithm was developed in 1973, if I am not mistaken, and is still widely used today, in banking systems, web technologies, etc.

Key size growth and cryptosystem level growth are not the same thing at all. This is the state of the art.

elugovoy:

The numbers refer to block ciphers based on DES and its modifications (e.g. 3-DES), depending on key size and modification.

By the way, the RSA algorithm was developed in 1973, if I am not mistaken, and is still widely used today, in banking systems, web technologies, etc.

Key size growth and cryptosystem level growth are not the same thing at all. Here is the state of the art.

I apologise to the host of the thread for the obvious off-topic, but it's very interesting :). Two questions, that's all :).

1. Can you tell from an encrypted message what type of cipher was used?