Rookie Code - What am I doing wrong?

I'm new to programming.  MQL4 is my first coding language (and only for that matter).  I'm trying to write a basic code that sends an alert when either a shooting star or a hammer is formed.  I have two questions after putting this through the strategy tester on MT4.  First, no alerts have been sent to I just want to make sure, alerts still get sent on the strategy tester, right?  Assuming they do then something must just be missing from my code.  The second question is, once is able to send the alert, is it going to send the alert on every single tick over and over?  Is there something I'm supposed to write in there to make sure it only sends the alert once?

Anyways, here's my code.  Thank you in advance. The code is simply meant to send an alert when the long wick is three times the length of the body or more and the short wick is 1/5 the length of the long wick or less. It's also worth noting, I've only written scripts before, so I'm not even sure I'm writing this correctly for an EA.  Your help is greatly appreciated!

#property strict
#include <CustomFunctions01.mqh>
#property show_inputs

// Adding all the global variables:
//-----------------------------------------------

// Parts of the candle
double topWick;
double body;
double bottomWick;

// Is there a pattern
bool bIsShootingStar = FALSE;
bool bIsHammer = FALSE;

// Inputs 
input double tailSize = 3;  //multiples of body, refers to the long wick on the pattern
input double wickSize = 0.2;  //multiples of tail, refers to the short wick on the pattern

int OnInit()
{
return(INIT_SUCCEEDED);
}

void OnDeinit(const int reason)
{ 
}

void OnTick()
{

// Is the candle bullish or not? 
   if(Open[1]<=Close[1])  
   {
   topWick = High[1]-Close[1];
   body = Close[1]-Open[1];
   bottomWick = Open[1]-Low[1];
   }
   else
   {
   topWick = High[1]-Open[1];
   body = Open[1]-Close[1];
   bottomWick = Close[1]-Low[1];
   }

// Is it a shooting star?