Open position using indicator

Hi, 

I have an indicator that creates a 'dot' on the chart prompting me to either buy if the dot is blue or sell if the dot is orange. Please excuse my lack of correct jargon as I only started working with MQL this morning. I am trying to have an EA open the positions for me instead of having to open positions manually when a 'dot' is added to the chart. If anyone could point me in the right direction to capture this info from the indicator. I have looked at using iCustom but I fail to understand how to make the relevant info available from the indicator e.g. "Open long now" to the EA. Once again, I know that I am not using the correct jargon but I am very new to MQL.

Heinrich Kruger:

Hi, 

I have an indicator that creates a 'dot' on the chart prompting me to either buy if the dot is blue or sell if the dot is orange. Please excuse my lack of correct jargon as I only started working with MQL this morning. I am trying to have an EA open the positions for me instead of having to open positions manually when a 'dot' is added to the chart. If anyone could point me in the right direction to capture this info from the indicator. I have looked at using iCustom but I fail to understand how to make the relevant info available from the indicator e.g. "Open long now" to the EA. Once again, I know that I am not using the correct jargon but I am very new to MQL.

Welcome to MQL . 

First thing you have to do (i assume you dont have the source code for the indicator) is check the indicator buffers bar to bar and see which buffer 
controls which dot ,with iCustom .

So you will build a test EA and after initialization you will make a pass of say 10 bars and check each indicator buffer .

This is the point of differentiation between MT4 + MT5 so i'll wait for you to tell me which one you are learning

Lorentzos Roussos:

Welcome to MQL .