Reverse direction of currency pair?

I'm new to forex and MQL5 (but have a software background) so I apologize in advance if this is posted in the wrong forum. I'm writing an EA but am struggling a little with the terminology and workings of the forex market.

Take the currency pair EURUSD at a bid of 1.14131 and an ask of 1.14161. I understand that to mean:

1. I can sell 1 EUR to buy 1.14131 USD.
  2. I can sell 1.14161 USD to buy 1 EUR.

Is my understanding of bid/ask correct?

Now my real question is, if I have 1 USD, how many EUR can I buy? I suspect it is 1 divided by the ask (1.14161), so roughly 0.8759.

Is that process correct?

Thank you for your time and effort, they are most appreciated.

oaklodge:

I'm new to forex and MQL5 (but have a software background) so I apologize in advance if this is posted in the wrong forum. I'm writing an EA but am struggling a little with the terminology and workings of the forex market.

Take the currency pair EURUSD at a bid of 1.14131 and an ask of 1.14161. I understand that to mean:

Now my real question is, if I have 1 USD, how many EUR can I buy? I suspect it is 1 divided by the ask (1.14161), so roughly 0.8759.

Is that process correct?

Yes ... both of them are correct.

Thank you.

Anyone know why they don't just give a reverse price? Seems like an anachronism.

oaklodge:

Thank you.

Anyone know why they don't just give a reverse price? Seems like an anachronism.

It is a new term )

What do you exactly mean with "reverse price"?

Why is there only a EURUSD symbol, and not a USDEUR symbol?

oaklodge: Why is there only a EURUSD symbol, and not a USDEUR symbol?

Because, you have a brain, a calculator and a computer! Why have a superfluous secondary symbol for exactly the same thing?

oaklodge:
Why is there only a EURUSD symbol, and not a USDEUR symbol?

The reason for this is mostly convention.

Why isn't the EUR/USD currency pair quoted as USD/EUR?
Why isn't the EUR/USD currency pair quoted as USD/EUR?