Make EA to emit trading signals for testing - how to

hello

I'm rather new to MT4 and programming EAs so maybe this approach is all wrong :)

I have writeen an EA that displays up/down arrows at possible entry points for buys and sells, without triggering actual buys/sells.

It is using some of the indicators' values to achieve this. This works fine. 

My question is: how can I test this advisor with the strategy tester

I read the docs about signals but as far as I understand I can only set/get properties to already existing signals.

I don't want my EA to automatically place orders, just to indicate possible entry points.

Can this be (back-)tested with the strategy tester at all?

if yes, can someone please einlighten me? 

if no, how can I otherwise back-test this advisor?

Thanks in advance

ranxero:

hello

I'm rather new to MT4 and programming EAs so maybe this approach is all wrong :)

I have writeen an EA that displays up/down arrows at possible entry points for buys and sells, without triggering actual buys/sells.

It is using some of the indicators' values to achieve this. This works fine. 

My question is: how can I test this advisor with the strategy tester

I read the docs about signals but as far as I understand I can only set/get properties to already existing signals.

I don't want my EA to automatically place orders, just to indicate possible entry points.

Can this be (back-)tested with the strategy tester at all?

if yes, can someone please einlighten me? 

if no, how can I otherwise back-test this advisor?

Thanks in advance

if the EA is not trading, then it's just an indicator.
why backtest ? backtest is to assess profitability of an EA that trades.

you can use your namely EA (which is actually an indicator) and see if the arrows are signalling good trades or not, by scrolling back your chart, while the indicator is active. (assuming it does not repaint)