is it necessary to download historic tick data on MQL5?

hello, 

I use Tickstory to download real tick data on MT4.

I am new in MT5 and I have heard it is not necessary to download real tick data on MT5 as it connects directly and automatically to the broker data server. Is that correct?

one disadvantage of testing EA in MT4 is we need to use a fixed spread. Is it possible to test an EA in MT5 with real tick data and real spread used in each tick?

thansk and best regards.

FXreedom:

I am new in MT5 and I have heard it is not necessary to download real tick data on MT5 as it connects directly and automatically to the broker data server. Is that correct?

Correct.

FXreedom:

Is it possible to test an EA in MT5 with real tick data and real spread used in each tick?

Yes. 

Just a summary about: All (not yet) about Strategy Tester, Optimization and Cloud

----------------

Testing trading strategies on real ticks and the explanation is on this post.

----------------

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

All (not yet) about Strategy Tester, Optimization and Cloud

Sergey Golubev, 2017.07.22 07:31

The article:

Testing trading strategies on real ticks

The article provides the results of testing a simple trading strategy in three modes: "1 minute OHLC" using only Open, High, Low and Close prices of minute bars; detailed modeling in "Every tick" mode, as well as the most accurate "Every tick based on real ticks" mode applying actual historical data.