Forcing History download for non-current symbols - MT5

HI all.

Just recently converted to MT5 to use multi-pair strategies. Currently trying to write a currency strength meter indicator that looks at 28 pairs.

At present, the only way I can make Bars("XXXYYY",PERIOD_CURRENT) work across all 28 pairs is to open all the relevant charts using  ChartOpen(SymbolIndex_Array[i],PERIOD_CURRENT).

If the a relevant chart is not open, Bars("XXXYYY",PERIOD_CURRENT)  returns a zero value, eve though the relevant symbol is available in the MarketWatch (using  SymbolSelect function).

Does anyone have any suggestions apart from opening all the other 27 windows......??

thanks

Alain Verleyen:

Read the documentation maybe ? ;-)

Fair point!

I started on MT5 yesterday and have been reading as much as I can. However I'm no programmer and have been struggling with the increased flexibility of MT5 v. MT4 as well as the Object Oriented nature of MT5.

Cheers

whroeder1:
Unless the chart is that specific pair/TF, you must handle 4066/4073 errors. Don't assume that Time[i] == iTime(otherPair,TF, i) always use iBarShift.
Irrelevant, the topic is about MT5.

Alain Verleyen: Irrelevant, the topic is about MT5.

Irrelevant how? I mentioned the MT5 Copy functions. Either check at OnTick or when you use them. Either way it has to be done.

whroeder1:

Irrelevant how? I mentioned the MT5 Copy functions. Either check at OnTick or when you use them. Either way it has to be done.

There is no error 4066 or 4073 with mql4, please don't confuse people by mixing both.

It's useless and confusing to provide mql4 links when answering to mql5 question. Please don't do this.

(by the way I didn't see you mentioned MT5 Copy at first, I had to read your post 3 times to see it).

Alain Verleyen:

There is no error 4066 or 4073 with mql4, please don't confuse people by mixing both.

It's useless and confusing to provide mql4 links when answering to mql5 question. Please don't do this.