Questions about CFTC anti-hedging and FIFO

Hello,

I'm a new trader. Most of my background is in programming and software engineering. I have been working with Forex demo accounts for about three months now and am getting fairly close to finishing an ea using mt4.

As a US trader I am influenced by the CFTC rules, specifically anti-hedging and FIFO. My questions for the community are:

1) Is it considered a hedge if you open several orders in the same direction (buy only, or sell only) on the same instrument?

2) As a US trader are there any legal ways to trade without a FIFO restriction?

Any input on FIFO is welcome, thanks.

paysonwelch:
Hello,

I'm a new trader. Most of my background is in programming and software engineering. I have been working with Forex demo accounts for about three months now and am getting fairly close to finishing an ea using mt4.

As a US trader I am influenced by the CFTC rules, specifically anti-hedging and FIFO. My questions for the community are:

1) Is it considered a hedge if you open several orders in the same direction (buy only, or sell only) on the same instrument?

2) As a US trader are there any legal ways to trade without a FIFO restriction?

Any input on FIFO is welcome, thanks.

1) No, hedging is opening positions in different direction of the same financial instrument. It gives rise to arbitrage. In other words, it stickle executing, e.g., triangular arbitrage.

2) Yes, there are some ways:

(a) start-up a financial trading firm outside your country (e.g. Brazil, India, Singapore) and operate as a firm;

(b) hire someone outside your country (from, e.g., Brazil, Israel, Uruguay) who can open an account giving you "power of attorney" so that you can operate in his/her name and make a contract with this person in order to guarantee your assets;

(c) "invest" your money in a capital management firm outside your country which executes the same strategy you're wiling to execute.