Exporting Chart Data

Hello everyone,

I've been working with MetaTrader for some time and I'm studying nonlagdot indicator (the code is attached.) After looking at many charts, I wanted to analyze the data as seen in the chart window in Excel. I wasn't able to find any way to export data as seen in chart window to a csv file, so I wrote a small exporter EA (code attached) which actually exports the bar data into a text file.

A simple exporter which exports data on every pass through start() function will export all tick data. I was interested only in the bar data for a specified time frame. I devised the following way of exporting bar data: drop in volume indicates beginning of new bar. So on every pass through start() function, the algorithm compares the volume with previously recorded. If the volume dropped, it means new bar started.

I ran my exporter for two days (05/31/2010 and 06/01/2010) on EURUSD, M30. I then compared exported data with what is seen on the chart. I saw that exported data is shifted back in time by one bar. In the MetaTrader chart view, you see that volume 311 was recorded for bar 06/01/2010 00:00 but in the exported data the bar with this volume is for 06/01/2010 00:30. Also, according to the chart, the bar with volume 101 is for 05/31/2010 23:30 but in exported data it is for 06/01/2010 00:00. This apparent shift applies to all the exported bars.

Perhaps this time shift is an artifact of my exporter EA design. I would highly appreciate it if you could go over it and let me know if you find an error. Otherwise, I'm curious at the implications that it has for EA design.

Thanks,

Norsulfazol

Files:

you make it too complicated

if you want simple

time -- open - close , candle high, candle low

you can just open the EURxxx30M . HST file in the EXCEL -- it is able to read it straight away i.e. no programming is required

[[ only each candle data, no indicator data window values]]