Simple support and resistance trading

My idea is to build an EA that will take a user input for a resistance and a support trendline by either inserting 2 price & time points for each line or by simply drawing on the chart (if possible that would be absolutely awesome). If slopes are negative the algorithm would automatically go short when at or near resistance (user chooses actual number of pips or a percentage of the pip distance between resistance & support lines) and close that position at/near support, etc for uptrending/lateral markets.

I've been trading this strategy manually on the daily EUR/USD chart and have been quite satisfied with the results. The pain is having to be watching closely when close to those levels, so an algorithm would be a greatest hand. I'm a complete beginner with respect to coding, so I totally welcome your help.

I can see that the resistance/support inputting is going to be my greatest challenge, so if you have an idea of how to do that please let me know!

As soon as I have something coded I'll make sure to post it! (code included..!)

wrong thread title

sorry for my incorrect nomenclature (and perhaps incompetence in being able to change a thread title) but the title should have actually been

"SIMPLE SUPPORT AND RESISTANCE TRENDLINE TRADING"

If an admin could do that I would appreciate it!

The problem with methods is that the trendlines will always be subjective, unless you choose particular trend lines of certain distances from current Time[0]

If you want to even start this project, I suggest you extensively define your definition of trendlines, not just the most recent high high and low low or high low, and low high.

renegado

It may be possible to just draw the line on the chart at the points you like them and have the EA act upon it. The trick is to name the line to a name that the EA will look for and if it exist will then act upon it as you would like (that is, programed it to act).

Keit

renegado: