Minimum Trailing Stop?

Hello all,

Since MT only accepts a manual trailing stop of 15, if I code a TS in an EA for less than 15 will it be accepted?

Thanks.

WNW:
Hello all,

Since MT only accepts a manual trailing stop of 15, if I code a TS in an EA for less than 15 will it be accepted?

Thanks.

I think you should use MarketInfo function with MODE_STOPLEVEL switch to check what is the minimum stop on current cross.

Thanks for the reply, but I'm not a programmer and I have no idea how to do that...

It will accept a TS as small as the smallest allowed SL. If you do it manually (in your code, so your code closes the trade based on loss, not by the SL) it will allow it as small as you want.

ThomasB:
It will accept a TS as small as the smallest allowed SL. If you do it manually (in your code, so your code closes the trade based on loss, not by the SL) it will allow it as small as you want.

Ture, but you can get REQUOTE info from your brooker, or when modifying order sl you can get error : INVALID STOPS.

And here is an example how to check minimum SL:

Comment("Minimum SL for "+Symbol()+" is "+MarketInfo(Symbol(),MODE_STOPLEVEL));

Put this line in any indicator that works, at the beginning of the start function and you will see what will happen .

Thanks much, I'll give it a try.

Can someone explain to me how Trailing stop works.

Thanks

I just understand Trailing Stops yet.

If I have a trade with a TP=15 SL=15 and TS=6

How does the TS of 6 effect this trade? TS doesn't override TP does it?

If the price moves in my favor 6 pips does it move my SL up to it now so if my TP of 15 isn't hit at least I'll still break even with a TP of 6? is that right?

I've read elsewhere that it just moves the SL up 6 pips.

Thanks

Kalenzo:
No.

It will work like that:

When order will be sent lets say that the price will be 1.2000 and you trade long.

your tp level will be 1.2015

your stop 1.1985