Detecting new bar (Indicator / EA?)

I need to detect when the new bar for any timeframe commences and then put out an alert if a certain condition is met. I am new to this and just completed my first indicator but my alerts occur for every tick.

Also, how do I return a specific bar's commencing server or local time. Does each bar have a time "label"?

The documentation tells me how to get current time in seconds since 1970 and there are functions to extract components such as hour or day. Is there any function that can convert to a specified format?

All help appreciated.

Nightmasks:
I need to detect when the new bar for any timeframe commences and then put out an alert if a certain condition is met. I am new to this and just completed my first indicator but my alerts occur for every tick.

define lastBar before Start function and in the start function check:

if(Bars>lastBar)

{

alert me

lastBar = Bars;

}

Nightmasks:

Also, how do I return a specific bar's commencing server or local time. Does each bar have a time "label"?

Yes, u can use Time[] array or iTime() function

Nightmasks:

The documentation tells me how to get current time in seconds since 1970 and there are functions to extract components such as hour or day. Is there any function that can convert to a specified format?

All help appreciated.

To what format do u want to convert it? It returns standard timestamp, and as we know timestamp can be converted to any format as u wish.

Regards

Kale

Nightmasks:

All help appreciated.

You may use iClose():

double iClose( string symbol, int timeframe, int shift),[/CODE]

where shift is number of bar starting from 0 (curent bar).

Or indicator/EA may look back to some bars to search the condition:

[CODE] int limit;

int counted_bars=IndicatorCounted();

if(counted_bars<0) counted_bars=0;

if(counted_bars>0) counted_bars--;

limit=Bars-counted_bars;

//----

for(int i = 0 ;i < limit ;i++)

{

double f1u = iCustom(...,i);