How to code? - page 304

1. In general. no, there is no point in checking it since mostly you will have much more bars than you need for a moving average to "stabilize" . It is not an old bug, but is a simple check of how many bars are there in the history

2. Yes. Just bare in mind that since iClose() (it the similar iOpen(), iHigh() and iLow()) are functions while Close[],Open,High[],Low[] is a simple arrays with much, much faster access to values, so you have to weight if you really need the flexibility of the function over the speed and simplicity of the arrays accessing

zzz:
Hi, I am new to programming but not new to trading. I did not post anything for a while and now, since I started developing my EA, I have lots of questions. I started with building an indicator first, and once it does what I want I will go further. I read all the manuals I could find, so now it is time for me to move ahead with coding.

Sorry, if it is a wrong thread - please let me know where I should post such questions then.

I have 2, probably, basic questions for now, please:

1. In many indicators using MAs I see lines checking for how many bars are on the chart. So, if I need MA200 and the chart only has, say, 100 bars, would iMA200 work then? I think yes - I checked and any MA is drawn without any problems on any chart, so I think this is an old bug that Metaquotes fixed now. So, is there a point of checking how many bars are there on the chart for drawing MA or using iMA function?

2. What is a difference between Close and iClose? My understanding is that Close can return a close of the bars on the current chart only, and iClose can return any close of any currency pair and any timeframe. And in both cases, in order to get a last closed bar I have to use index [1]. Am I seeing it correct?

Thank you.

DoubleStochastic for MT4, real DoubleStochastic

Hello guys - new MT4 user.