How to code? - page 303

another beginner's questions

Hi, I am new to programming but not new to trading. I did not post anything for a while and now, since I started developing my EA, I have lots of questions. I started with building an indicator first, and once it does what I want I will go further. I read all the manuals I could find, so now it is time for me to move ahead with coding.

Sorry, if it is a wrong thread - please let me know where I should post such questions then.

I have 2, probably, basic questions for now, please:

1. In many indicators using MAs I see lines checking for how many bars are on the chart. So, if I need MA200 and the chart only has, say, 100 bars, would iMA200 work then? I think yes - I checked and any MA is drawn without any problems on any chart, so I think this is an old bug that Metaquotes fixed now. So, is there a point of checking how many bars are there on the chart for drawing MA or using iMA function?

2. What is a difference between Close and iClose? My understanding is that Close can return a close of the bars on the current chart only, and iClose can return any close of any currency pair and any timeframe. And in both cases, in order to get a last closed bar I have to use index [1]. Am I seeing it correct?

Thank you.

Ive done that already. See highlighted red below:

//--- Deterime whether previous sell order is profitable

string GetWinLossPreviousShort (int LastOpenTicket, string WinLossPreviousShort)

{

if (OrderSelect(LastOpenTicket(), SELECT_BY_TICKET, MODE_TRADES) == TRUE)

{

if (OrderProfit() >= 0 && OrderType() == OP_SELL)

{

WinLossPreviousShort = "W";

return (WinLossPreviousShort);

}

if ((OrderProfit() < 0 && OrderType() == OP_SELL) || LastOpenTicket() == -1)

{

WinLossPreviousShort = "L";

}

}

}

Still completely blank.

Scratching my head. I know your help is limited because I havnt pasted the code, but does the above code look OK to you?