Query Order History within Indicator in Strategy Tester

I'm writing an indicator that uses OrdersHistoryTotal() in the calculation. I'd like to test it in strategy tester but it's not working. I've attached the indicator to the chart window I am running the test on and the Print statement in the code below returns zero every time.

The function works fine on a live chart. But in strategy tester I just get zeros. Should this work? Am I misunderstanding how indicators work in the strategy tester?

This is my first time writing an indicator...

Thanks in advance for any help! 

int OnCalculate(const int rates_total,
                const int prev_calculated,
                const datetime &time[],
                const double &open[],
                const double &high[],
                const double &low[],
                const double &close[],
                const long &tick_volume[],
                const long &volume[],
                const int &spread[])
{                

Print("OrdersHistoryTotal = ",OrdersHistoryTotal());

return(rates_total);
}

The strategy tester has no history until it has made trades during the current test. As you are testing an indicator, trades are not possible.

James Parker:

I'm writing an indicator that uses OrdersHistoryTotal() in the calculation. I'd like to test it in strategy tester but it's not working. I've attached the indicator to the chart window I am running the test on and the Print statement in the code below returns zero every time.

The function works fine on a live chart. But in strategy tester I just get zeros. Should this work? Am I misunderstanding how indicators work in the strategy tester?