Newbie / Learning - # and ;

Hi all,

I'm very new to MQL4 and have no C or C++ knowledge. I do know a fair bit of VBA.

I have 2 questions on MQL4:

1) What is # used for? I saw some examples and it seemed like comments to me. Is it the same as //?

2) Does all codes in MQL4 ends with ;? (semicolon).

Thanks in advance!

dcmb: I'm very new to MQL4 and have no C or C++ knowledge. I do know a fair bit of VBA. I have 2 questions on MQL4:
  1. What is # used for? I saw some examples and it seemed like comments to me. Is it the same as //?
  2. Does all codes in MQL4 ends with ;? (semicolon).

When in doubt read the documentation. It is there so that you can learn!

1. "#" are not comments. They are for compile time preprocessing - MQL4 Reference Language Basics Preprocessor
  2. Yes, most of the time. It follows the same rules as "C" and "C++" - MQL4 Reference Language Basics

Also, I highly recommend that you build up your coding skills and basic coding experience by practicing with "C" coding. Since this is in regards to MQL4, I suggest that you do the following:

• First learn the basics of coding in "C". Here are a few links for sites that offer tutorials and learning for "C" that can help:
  • Then read and follow the Book/Tutorial (even though it is old and out of date).
  • At the same time, read the entire documentation with special attention to the MQL4 Updates that are not mentioned in the Book/Tutorial.
  • Then you should study several examples of code for Indicators, Expert Advisors (EAs) and Scripts in the user Code Base.
  • Then you can start making your own, but very simple Indicators and slowly build on them until fully able to understand and make more complex Indicators.
  • Then you can start making your own, but very simple EAs and slowly build on them until fully able to understand and make more complex EAs.

You should not skip any of these necessary steps! Consider this as a very important lesson!