Question about setting up a VPS at home

dear fellow traders!

I am in the process of setting up a VPS at home. Something along the lines of what this guy is describing:  http://www.tradingheroes.com/how-to-build-your-own-low-cost-metatrader-virtual-private-server-vps/

However, I am not completely  sure as of what I will need in terms of computer power and specs... Saw on a programming forum that RAM is important. How important is a large hard drive for downloading historical data for backtests?  How powerful should the computer be?

I am still relatively new to trading with EAs but expect to be expanding and thus having several MT4 running at the same time, trading and testing... So this is what the computer needs to be able to handle... 

Hope you guys can help me out! 

master_dude:

I am in the process of setting up a VPS at home. Something along the lines of what this guy is describing:  http://www.tradingheroes.com/how-to-build-your-own-low-cost-metatrader-virtual-private-server-vps/

The whole idea of a VPS "at home" is slightly perverse. Half the point of a VPS is that you are paying for a more reliable infrastructure than you have at home: more reliable internet connectivity, more reliable power supply etc. Incidentally, the article you are quoting doesn't add in the electricity costs of running a machine at home.

The figure of $74.95pm is, as he says, hugely inflated. Perfectly usable services are available for $30pm or less. (Compared to running a machine at home, that's a price differential of $20pm or even less after deducting domestic electricity costs.) If you can't afford that, then you probably need to think very, very carefully about whether you should get involved in the high-risk area of fx trading.

It would be more normal to do the backtesting - a relatively occasional, resource-intensive activity - on a home machine, and to use the VPS only for live trading. A virtual server which is suitable for running backtests will indeed be expensive.