How to temporarily stop an automatic trader

Hello everybody.

I'm new to MetaQuotes 4 and the Metatrader 4 platform (I have a good expereince in C programming though ).

I realized a basic demo program just to have some idea about the subject . Now I want to update the source code  and create a new version, 

without losing the old one.

I realized that, when you "remove" the program from the expert advisors's list (which is where I find it when I compile and save it),

you really delete the program and lose the source code : is there a way to keep the code without having to save each time on a personal folder too?

Moreover, I see that even by removing the program , it still keeps running  and the only way to stop is seems to be (at least for a newbie like I am) 

to close the Metatrader platform (even though, whenever you reopen it, the program restarts ...).

What can I do to simply stop the program from running without having to close the platform, and if possibile, without even having to remove the program itself ? 

Thanks in advance to anyone who'd answer ...

Regards,

Leo 

towmtdj: Moreover, I see that even by removing the program , it still keeps running  and the only way to stop is seems to be (at least for a newbie like I am) to close the Metatrader platform (even though, whenever you reopen it, the program restarts ...).
On the chart: right click -> experts -> remove

WHRoeder:
towmtdj: Moreover, I see that even by removing the program , it still keeps running  and the only way to stop is seems to be (at least for a newbie like I am) to close the Metatrader platform (even though, whenever you reopen it, the program restarts ...).
On the chart: right click -> experts -> remove

I did it, WHRoeder ... but as I told , no matter if I remove the program from the expert advisors' list, the program keeps running......

I can see the counters of the  program increasing constantly, which cannot happen if the program is stopped. 

towmtdj: