6th Degree Poly Help!

Let me introduce myself. I'm a database architect (as opposed to a mathematician) with very strong programming skills in all things database (sql, t-SQL, PL/SQL) and have enough skill in non-database languages (C,C++,C#, VB/VBA) to make do. I worked within the confines of the Financial Services industry for many, many, many years and am very well versed in Excel (and really liking 2013, kudos!).

I've used Excel for a very long time, have always relied on the built-in functions and graphing tools (I can always cut and paste the image of a graph), and never once did it cross my mind that one day, I would identify a practical application of the actual (non-visual) values and have to dig below the surface of the presentation to determine "how". Until recently, the visual presentation (and the logic behind it) sold itself.

Therein lies the purpose of my quest.

Given the following chart, one can clearly validate the stability of the 6th degree polynomial trend lines. The poly is substantially more stable over a greater range offered by the SMA method, and all this with a nominal degree of latency! Simply put: the poly's don't flinch. I fell in love with the Excel poly trend lines since the day I used them to identify the top of the real estate market in '08 (the trend identified the change in May-June and the collapse occurred in Aug-Sep, as I recall) providing me the capability to provide serious cautions to mortgage portfolio risk mitigation teams I was servicing at the time (albeit, visually)!

Poly-Graph

Now my quest begins.