Only losses...

Hello, I'm new here.

My background is programming, not trading. Maybe some here can explain to me how it is that the graphs shown with the various EA's here all go up (promising heaven), but when I test them, I only see the graphs tumbling down and consuming all my virtual money. The one more than the other.

I use:

• marketdata over a period of a year (april 2, 2012 untill today)
  • at M1, M5, M15 and H1
  • with EURUSD, AUDNZD and GBPJPY

The traders are:

• FXCM
  • IC Markets

Some of the EA's were:

• Blessing 3
  • RSI Range Trader
  • DailyFX_RSI
  • B-Bands Range Trader (one off the best here on M15)
  • LotScalp
  • DoubleUp2
  • ArtificialIntelligence
  • Fracture-7.4.0
  • Godbot
  • EarlyTopProrate
  • Robot Danu
Thanks.

The settings are everything. You can' just load an EA and let it go.

If an EA was designed for an monthly chart and you use it on a one minute chart, of course it will not work expected.

Do not use an EA that you do not understand. Read the trading logic and understand when and why it will trade. If you couldn't be able to do the same trades manually (if speed of calculation isn't an issue), then you shouldn't be putting your trust in that EA.

Personally, I have never tested other people's EAs, I practice my own manual trading and try to make my EA use the same strategies if successful

I agree with alladir. Slight changes in settings can have a huge impact.

However, did you ever think that if people had successful EA's, why would they bother putting them up for sale? I have tested commercial EA's in the past and found them to be a waste. Its better to code your own one from scratch, that way you understand them fundamentally and can build on them with time.

I have juggled with the settings, and although I'm not a trader, I am a math-dude so the settings are no mystery for me.