Advise on MQL4 vs MQL5

Hi all

I've read the new here:
https://forum.mql4.com/59622

Question is:
Quit a while ago I started learning MQL4 to about an intermediate noob level.

Now that time as gone by I wondered should I continue to write code in MQL4 or just start learning over again and go right to MQL5

Are most forex trading brokers using MQL5 or MQL4

I'm not sure what direct I should go with learning MQL in the short term.
Will making EA's be similar in MQL5 ? or completely different ?

Anyhow any advise is welcome
Thanks

Agent86:
Hi all

I've read the new here:

Question is:

Now that time as gone by I wondered should I continue to write code in MQL4 or just start learning over again and go right to MQL5

There are many more MT4 Brokers than MT5.

Agent86:

Some things in mql5 are very, very different, for example Order handling . . . you cannot have multiple open Orders on the same symbol, they combine to make a single position. You can do multi-symbol testing in the Strategy Tester, but you cannot use your own data so testing with real tick data is not possible.

Some things are very similar, for example Object handling, File handling.

Indicators work a little differently . . .

You need to determine what you want from your coding, if you can do it in mql4 then do so . . . if there are things you want or need to do and they can't be done in mql4 ask and someone will probably know if it can be done in mql5 and advise you.

Great thanks,

One last thing.
If the forex brokers websites advertise MT4 does this mean I can't use MT5 with that broker ?
Thanks

Agent86:
Hi all

I've read the new here:

Question is:

I'm not sure what direct I should go with learning MQL in the short term.

Anyhow any advise is welcome
Thanks