MACD, again

Hi again,  

OK, still having problems on something that should be a piece of cake.

please see attached screenshot for a start.  All I'm trying to do is code a simple EA to go long on macd cross over and go short when it crosses over the other way. But I seem to be having some really silly trades going through, the odd one seems successful but in the most part, it seems the trade in the wrong direction.

As Im quite new to MQL my EA was starting to look better quality in terms of condition handling and error handling etc, but as I've got this stupid problem I decided to start over again with the very basics, so the code shown below is somewhat primitive and I appreciate probably not the best way to achieve what Im doing. Yes I could pinch someone elses MACD code but I wont learn about MQL doing that.

Appreciate any thoughts. also why am I seeing people declare variables in start(), surely they must get re-declared on each new tick? or create endless clones?

(code few posts down)

idh:

Hi again,  

please see attached screenshot for a start.  All I'm trying to do is code a simple EA to go long on macd cross over and go short when it crosses over the other way. But I seem to be having some really silly trades going through, the odd one seems successful but in the most part, it seems the trade in the wrong direction.

As Im quite new to MQL my EA was starting to look better quality in terms of condition handling and error handling etc, but as I've got this stupid problem I decided to start over again with the very basics, so the code shown below is somewhat primitive and I appreciate probably not the best way to achieve what Im doing. Yes I could pinch someone elses MACD code but I wont learn about MQL doing that.

Appreciate any thoughts. also why am I seeing people declare variables in start(), surely they must get re-declared on each new tick? or create endless clones?

<CODE DELETED >