Problem with buy and sell orders?

Hello,

I should start off and say I am new to mql4. I am attempting to make a simple grid trader to start off with. Piecing it together slowly.

I am currently struggling with getting my EA to trade both buy and sell orders. Currently it seems to only want to trade sell orders. I currently am using:

int checktrade()
{
double   trend = iAO(Symbol(),PERIOD_D1,1);
double   strenght = iRSI(Symbol(),PERIOD_D1,rsiperiod,PRICE_CLOSE,1);
double   rvi = iRVI(Symbol(),PERIOD_D1,rviperiod,MODE_MAIN,1);
double   rvis = iRVI(Symbol(),PERIOD_D1,rviperiod,MODE_SIGNAL,1);
if((rvis>rvi) && trend>0) isbuy=OP_BUY; //return(OP_BUY);
if((rvis<rvi) && trend<0) isbuy=OP_SELL; //return(OP_SELL);
Print(isbuy);
}

To check if my trades are valid. I have attempted to use return(OP_BUY/OP_SELL); vs isbuy=OP_BUY/OP_SELL; with no success. Also, please ignore the unused indicators, I have just been playing with calling in indicators.

Find below my open trade logic.

if(AccountEquity()<=(AccountBalance()-(AccountBalance()*0.03)))
   {
      Print("Equity too low. Current level in DD:", ((AccountBalance()-AccountEquity())/AccountBalance())*100,"% ");
      return(0);
   }  
      else
   {
   checktrade();
      if(OrdersTotal()>=MaxCount)
      {
         return(0);
      }
         else
      {
      //No Trade
         if(isbuy==0)
         {
            return(0);
         }
      //Buy
         if(isbuy==OP_BUY)
         {
            //checkprice();
            ticket=OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,lot,Ask,5,0,0,"ORDER CHECK", MagicNumber,0,Green);
               if(ticket<0)
               {
               Print("OrderSend failed with error ",GetLastError());
               return(0);
               } 
                  else
               {
               orderid = orderid+1;
               OrderSelect(ticket,SELECT_BY_TICKET,MODE_TRADES);
               OrderModify(ticket,OrderOpenPrice(),0,OrderOpenPrice()+(tp*Point),0,Green);
               return(0);