Been struggling for 3 weeks to get this basic EA to work - please help

Hi Everyone

While not new to trading, I am new to programming.  I want to learn how to do it and I do have the MQL4 book and reading it.  I thought that I would start with something really simple and basic and use this as a base to build a more sophisticated EA, but I cannot even get this EA to work properly.  I have been struggling for 3 weeks now, and realized it is time to ask for help.  I simply want the EA to open both a buy and sell order at the same time, but only do so when no other orders are open.  And I want it to open the orders when the closing price of the current bar is higher than the closing price of the previous bar.  It appears to me as if the EA ignores this and places the order as soon as I add it to the chart.  And then some other times it appears as if it won't trade at all.  There are no warnings or errors.  Will someone please, please take a look for me.  I want to learn.  Thank you.  Gary

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//| mo_bidir_v0_1.mq4                                                |
//|                                                                  |
//| - Works best in 5M timeframe                                     |
//| - Bug fix to stop_loss in line 22 2010.04.07                     |
#property copyright "Copyright © 2010 - Monu Ogbe"

#define MAGIC  1234
#define IDENT  "mo_bidir_v0_1"

extern double  lots           = 0.01;
extern double  stop_loss      = 80;   // (8 pips) optimise 50-2000
extern double  take_profit    = 750;  // (75 pips) optimise 50-2000

int    ticket,total;

int start(){
   total=OrdersTotal();
   if(total<1)
     {
     if(Close[0]>Close[1])
         ticket=OrderSend(Symbol(), OP_BUY, lots ,Ask, 3, Ask - stop_loss * Point, Bid + take_profit * Point, IDENT, MAGIC, 0, Blue);