terminological questions concerning lot size and related things

Hello,

I am relatively new to Forex trading, but not to programming.

I just started to write a few programs in order to understand some
concepts of Forex trading better and in order to be able to backtest
some of my ideas. You might consider the following issues to be
insignificant, because they are of a purely terminological
nature. Yet, I would appreciate any explanations very much, because,
on one hand, they would help me to understand Forex better, and, one the other
hand, they would help me to write code that is much easier to reuse
and share.

I am implenting strategy objects that have certain properties such as

max_positions: maximum number of open positions
take_profit: number of positive pips at which positions are closed to take the profit
stop_loss: number of negative pips at which positions are closed to avoid further losses

There are two properties I have certain terminological problems
with. At the moment, I call them 'lot_size' and 'percent_of_equity'.

I do not like the word "lot size", because it seems that you can never
be sure about its meaning. For some brokers one lot is 100000 units of
some currency, for some it is 10000 units. Some have accounts of type
A where one lot is different from one lot in accounts of type
B. The situation is not improved by introducing terms such as mini lot
and micro lot, because these terms also mean different things depending on
broker and account type. Therefore, I would like to simply understand by "lot size"
the number of units of a currency that is used in a trade. I.e. if
lot_size=1000, then 1000 pounds are sold and a corresponding amount of
dollars is bought in a 'SELL GBP/USD, lot_size=1000' trade. Yet, this
is not the standard way of using the term 'lot size'.

What would be a better word to use instead of 'lot size'? Is there
perhaps a commonly accepted term for this?